HMH Auxiliary gives record number of scholarships

2018 HMH Auxiliary Scholarship winners

Twenty-one area students have earned a 2018 Hardin Memorial Health Auxiliary Scholarship. The Auxiliary awards the scholarships to students from across the region who are pursuing a degree in the medical field. This year, the Auxiliary gave a record number of 20 $1,000 scholarships as well as a special scholarship of $1,500 that was dedicated in honor of former HMH Auxiliary President Hans Marsen.

The HMH Auxiliary scholarship program has been in place for more than 25 years. This year was especially competitive with approximately 80 students applying from all around HMH’s 10-County region.

HMH Director of Volunteer Services Kevin Hilton said Auxiliary volunteers work tirelessly to support HMH and raise money for the scholarship fund to benefit students throughout the 10-County region that HMH serves.

“So many young people from many counties within our region benefit from these scholarships,” Hilton said. “Many of them come back to work at HMH and care for patients right here at Hardin Memorial.”

Scholarship funds are raised through proceeds from the Auxiliary’s $5 Jewelry Sales, Books are Fun sales, as well as the lights Auxiliary volunteers sell for Let Christmas Shine to honor a loved one or healthcare provider on the HMH Christmas display.

This year’s scholarship recipients are:

Haylee GilkeyBardstownNelsonThomas Nelson High School
Taylor EdelenBardstownNelsonU of L
Madison EadsMagnoliaLarueLarue County High School
Amy PenceBonnievilleHartHart County High School
Katelynn BunnellHorse CaveHartHart County High School
Marsha ShewmakerCub RunHartSouthcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College
Heavin GoodmanGlendaleHardinCentral Hardin High School
Veronica BakerRineyvilleHardinGalen College of Nursing
Riley BeausoleilElizabethtownHardinJohn Hardin High School
Stefani McCoyElizabethtownHardinWestern Kentucky University
Emma VaughtElizabethtownHardinUK
Bevan BurchElizabethtownHardinUK
Caitlin CousineauVine GroveHardinNorth Hardin High School
Brinleigh CaldwellGreensburgGreenGreen County High School
Crystal RatliffGreensburgGreenGreen County High School
Rebecca HaycraftLeitchfieldGraysonGrayson County High School
Baleigh MurrainLeitchfieldGraysonGrayson County High School
Christen GearyCaneyvilleGraysonGrayson County High School
Mason ChandlerHudsonBreckenridgeBreckenridge County High School
Erika HutchinsonShepherdsvilleBullittBullitt Central High School


And the Hans Marsen Memorial Scholarship of $1,500 goes to McKenna Martin of Central Hardin High School in Elizabethtown.

Congratulations to the winners!